Script for webcams-Feather me down (First draft) Lucky Duck

16 09 2010

Feather me down.

This script is inspired by a friend of mine who commented on a beautiful photo I uploaded on Facebook of a feather on a rock, in macro style. This friend is Sam McKendrey, then my step mum backed up her claims about the emergence of feathers in your presence. So I went to the net and did some research in an effort to fatten this script. I found some interesting facts around the mystical beliefs from us humans on good or bad luck.

Characters
A = Female
B = Male or Female
C = Male or Female

A
Really I haven’t been in the lucky house of late.

B
The lucky house? What does that even mean?

C
WE make our own luck! Even when things that seem so lucky to us, we have made decisions to lead up to that supposed luck.

B
So do you mean we steer our own ships, master of our own domain, sort of thing?

C
Yes totally!

A
So your saying its my fault some jerk T-boned my car after running a red light, on my way home from the doctors, where I found out I have “Restless Leg Syndrome?”

C
No I’m saying we make our own decisions leading up to circumstances that occur in our lives and depending on your perception of said circumstances, you perceive them as bad or good luck.

A
(Kind of annoyed with the lack of empathy)
Oh I see, so you don’t consider it bad luck, even considering that my set of “circumstances” on said day, didn’t actually end there, because there’s more!

B
OMG, really? There’s more? You poor thing.

A
Thank you, at least someone understands!

B
So what else happened?

A
Well when I finally got home from the police station I had found my house had been broken into, the new flat screen TV was gone, DVD player, printer, microwave, my hair dryer and they had squeezed all of my toothpaste out on my bed, then written on my bathroom mirror with toothpaste, “SUCKER!”

B
OMG! Now I have to say that is a day full of bad luck. What bastards! So sorry all of that happened to you, man what bad luck!

C
Most unfortunate, sorry to hear.

A
UNFORTUNATE?! Bad luck is what I say!

C
Well that’s because of your perception and, ..

A
OMG you are still running with your perception theory?!

C
Ah, ..yes.
What is Restless Leg Syndrome, may I ask?

A
I feel like I have to walk or move my legs whenever I sit down or go to bed. I get a tingly feeling in my legs and sometimes its very painful.

C
Oh I’ve heard of this, some people don’t get the sleep they need because of the pain and irritation in their legs.

B
Oh man!

A
Well yes to top it all off I am one of those sleep depraved people, thanks to my damn restless legs!
(Looking at legs)

B
So all this has happened to you recently?

A
Yes, just two weeks ago and every day ever since something unlucky has happened.

B
Have you seen a sign of good luck at all since that day?

C
Oh man, a sign? Not you too!?

B
Hey! ..You don’t, ..oh forget it.
(changes tone directed now at character A)
For instance, have you, …

A
(Interrupts)
No good sign whatsoever. Like today walking to work, it was a really nice sunny day, blue skies and BANG! I hear this like, BB-gun sound in the background behind me, then in front of me a white pigeon falls dead on the ground.

B
Oh man! I was going to say that very thing!

C
Oh come on?!

A
What, that a dead pigeon falling from the sky is lucky?

B
(Excited)
Yes! …Well sort of.

A
(Disgusted)
Oh you sick puppy! I fell over trying to avoid the poor thing and sprained my ankle, in doing so.

C
That was unfortunate.

A
UNFORTUNATE!?

B
Finding white feathers is a sign of luck. A sign that an angel is looking after you.

A
I can see that, a few feathers maybe! But not the whole damn bird, splat dead under my feet!

B
Oh imagine a whole bird full of luck! “LOL!“ No really did a single feather fall off the bird?

A
Well yes come to think of it one did fall off while the bird was still in the air. It floated down and brushed the nose on my face.

B
Oh wow, you really are being looked after by an angel.

C
Now this is ridiculous! I thought you people were intelligent.

A
(A glimmer of hope in her voice)
Do you really think so?
(Starts typing in computer)

B
Oh for sure! What you think is bad luck, is good luck I reckon. You are being looked after.

C
You see there you go now! That’s just your perception colouring the outcome. Besides have you ever seen an angel?

B
Well no, if an angel made it easy to contact and even talk to then that would be interfering with life. Can you imagine? We would probably try to make deals with angels. And that’s just not on!

C
Oh listen to yourself! You are babbling almost incoherently now.

A
I cant believe this! You lied to me!
(reading off computer)
Says here “The order of the white feather of cowardice. The tradition of giving someone the white feather of cowardice goes back several hundred years, but became a populist issue in England during WW1.

B
Now that is totally wrong. Don’t believe everything you read on the internet. And plus we aren’t in the midst of a war.

A
No, there was even an organisation formed and they encouraged women to give young men white feathers who had not already joined the British Army.

B
Those were different times and, ..

C
(interrupts)
Perceptions were different!?

B
Oh quiet with your perceptions already!

A
Says here “the pacifist, Fenner Brockway, claimed he received so many white feathers he had enough to make a fan.” I can tell you this, I am no coward, despite of all these bad things happening to me I’m out there living my life.
(Said with pride and defiance)

C
(A really loud bang on a window scares all of them, not least character C.NB>this bang can be made in editing room)

A
OMG what was that?!

B
OMG I think I soiled myself!

C
(Has gotten up off cam and coming back to cam and says)
There’s white feathers all over my window and a dead pigeon on the ground.

B
Oh man you are so lucky.
(Stares at cam mouth open)

A
No, you are so full of cowardice, you could make a bird!
Yep that’s it.

C
Oh man I’m so afraid to give an opinion right now.

A
(Makes chicken noise and motion of chicken wings)
Bork-bok-bok-bok-bok-eek!

Credits

Check out krumbine and webcams
http://www.youtube.com/user/krumbine

This is the first draft from the original idea. I send these first drafts onto krumbine and if he likes it, he works on it and makes changes as he sees fit and if we both like the changes, we go ahead with the film under the monica of “Webcams”. Which is krumbines baby. So click past the break and discover the changes and the awesome performance by KendreySan, FromUnderTheRock and Chris LeBrane, all from YouTube.
NB: Music performed and written by http://www.youtube.com/clebrane and http://www.youtube.com/gonoammo

Cast
http://www.youtube.com/KendreySan
http://www.youtube.com/clebrane
http://www.youtube.com/user/FromUnderTheRock

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

